Skip to main content Skip to footer

Art, History and Culture

Art & Culture

Stone Mills is known for its rolling fields, picturesque landscapes and a community that embodies the spirit of rural living. Residents and visitors alike enjoy the tranquility and scenic charm of the countryside, while still being within reach of urban centers like Kingston and Toronto.The Township of Stone Mills is home to a variety of shops, local artisans and cultural events which can be found on County of Lennox and Addington .


The Township of Stone Mills is located within traditional lands of the Huron-Wendat and Algonquian First Nations.

The Township of Stone Mills is a lower-tier municipality found within the borders of Lennox and Addington County. As prescribed by the Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Housing Order made under Section 25.2 and being effective January 1, 1998, The Corporation of the Township of Stone Mills was created by the amalgamation of the Corporation of the Village of Newburgh, the Corporation of the Township of Camden and the Corporation of the Township of Sheffield. The Inaugural Council of the Township included representation in the form of 6 Councillors (3 - Camden Township, 2 - Sheffield Township, 1 - Village of Newburgh) and 1 Reeve (elected at-large). The Township is comprised of 11 hamlets (Camden East, Centreville, Colebrook, Croydon, Enterprise, Erinsville, Moscow, Newburgh, Strathcona, Tamworth and Yarker) and is home to 7,826 (2021 census). 

The surveying of the former Camden East Township was completed in 1805 and was named in honour of the Earl of Camden, a former Lord Chancellor of England. First settlement occurred between 1800-1804.  Settlement tended to concentrate along the Napanee River Valley, which offered dozens of excellent mill sites. 

Prior to being named Camden East Township, it was originally named Camden Township. A Township within Chatham-Kent (former Kent County) also bore the name Camden Township, prompting the required name change to Camden East Township.

The official survey of Sheffield Township was completed in 1822 and was named for Lord Sheffield, John Baker Holyroyd (1734-1821), an Irish lord who championed a variety of Canadian causes in the British Parliament. 

Town of Newburgh settlement occurred on the south side of the river in 1822 by two families, Benjamin Files and William V.P. Detlor. Newburgh quickly grew to be the township's largest settlement and threatened to become the largest in the county. Gristmills and sawmills sprung up along a stretch of river and the village became known as Rogues' Hollow.

Sign up to our Newsletter

Stay up to date on the Township's activities, events, programs and operations by subscribing to our eNewsletters.

This website uses cookies to enhance usability and provide you with a more personal experience. By using this website, you agree to our use of cookies as explained in our Privacy Policy.